Media Launch : Mpumalanga Cycle Tour White River

December 6, 2017 at 09:37 a.m

Good Morning

Today we present the third instalment of the Mpumalanga Cycle Tour.

The tour is a result of the Executive Committee resolutions that Cycling should be elevated in the Province as a high profile Provincial Sport event. The tour is thus a flagship of the Provincial Government.

The Tour is organised by Mpumalanga Cycle Union with the Department of Culture, Sport and Recreation in partnership with Forever Resorts SA and it takes place annually.

The Department is using the Cycle Tour to sell the Province as an ideal sport tourism destination.

Besides the monetary and sporting benefits that come with hosting an event of this magnitude, the tour affords us with a platform to promote Social Cohesion, as we will see cyclist from different racial backgrounds participating in the tour.

I am happy to announce that the tour has produced an international cyclist, Willie Smit. Smit, who has won the Tour since its inception, is now participating International for a team in Italy. We are proud of his achievement.

Let me take this opportunity to present the stages of next year’s Tour.

The tour will start on Saturday, 13th  January 2017 and finish on Thursday 18th January 2017.

Stage 1: 13 January 2017 – For all categories Forever Resort Blyde Canyon to Forever Resort Swadini
Finish at 84 KM

Stage 2: 14 January 2017 – For all categories Forever Resort Swadini to Forever Resort Mount Sheba
Finish at 128 KM

Stage 3: 15 January 2017 – For all categories Mount Sheba to Mbombela Stadium.
Finish at 170 KM

Stage 4: 16 January 2017 – For Elite Men Forever Resort, White River to Mbombela via Umjindi and Finish at Glenwood turn off to Umbali on the R40 road just outside Mbombela.
Finish at 140 KM

Stage 5: 17 January 2017 – For Elite Men Mbombela Stadium to Badplaas Forever Resort
Finish at 97 KM

Stage 6: 18 January 2017 – For Elite Men Badplaas to Loskopdam Forever Resort
Finish at 197 KM

In total 752 kilometres, Six (6) Stages over Six (6) days.

The prize giving ceremony will be held at Forever Resort Loskopdam on the 18th January 2017 at 18:00.

I thank you.