2020 Mpumalanga Sports Awards nominations now open

27 August 2020

MBOMBELA – It’s time for the second half of the 2020 Mpumalanga Sports Awards, following the conclusion of the nomination process at the end of July.

“We are pleased to announce the nominees of this year’s Mpumalanga Sports Awards. We want to thank each and every person who took time and nominated their favourite athletes,” explained the department’s spokesperson, Sibongile Nkosi. According to Nkosi, the Mpumalanga Sports Awards celebrate local individuals and teams who have done well in the world of sport. “The Mpumalanga Sports Awards are aimed at honouring and celebrating local individuals and teams who put the province on the sporting map across 20 categories with two of them conferred by Culture, Sport and Recreation MEC, Lindiwe Ntshalintshali, which are lifetime achievement and legends awards.” The winners will be announced in a virtual ceremony on September 27 on SuperSport on DSTV.

Last year, chess player, Banele Mhango was the biggest winner at the awards when he walked away with the Sports Star of the Year award. The complete nominees are as follows (categories that will be voted for by the public are highlighted in red). To vote for your favourite athlete, SMS the code next to the name of the athlete to 41539. Voting lines close at midnight on September 20.

  • Sport Journalist of the Year

Sipho Mlotha (MPSA2001), Nhlanhla Mthembu (MPSA2002), Zita Goldswain (MPSA2003), Mfanaukhona Shongwe (MPSA2004) and Busisiwe Mokwena (MPSA2005)

  •  Sports Presenter of the Year

Thembelihle Dladla (MPSA2006), Michael Shabane (MPSA2007) and Joseph Tsima (MPSA2008)

  • School Team of the Year:

Morgenzon Landbou Akademie, Vezulwazi Secondary and Motoaneng Primary School

  •  Developing School of the Year

Morgenzon Landbou Akademie, Mbangwane Primary School and Khula Secondary

  •  Newcomer of the Year

Lindokuhle Gamede, Sabelo Masango and Christo Nagel

  •  Sports Fan of the Year

Thabo “Manyovu” Mnisi (MPSA2009), Mandla “Mgijimi” Sindane (MPSA2010), Innocent Mawelela (MPSA2011), Elvis Mthembu (MPSA2012) and Masoka “Macicabovu” Fundama (MPSA2013)

  •  Sports Administrator of the Year

Melony Degenaar, Sibusiso Mhlanga and Aggrey Mokoena

  •  Sportswoman of the Year

 Rika Rossouw, Keo Mokolopo and Geraldine Janssens

  •   Sportswoman of the Year with Disabilities

 Lehlogonolo Molapo, Faith Malope and Prudence Kwanyama

  •  Sportsman of the Year

Lucky Sekome, Jan Degenaar and Nico van den Berg

  • Sportsman of the Year with Disabilities

Sabelo Masango, Njabulo Cumbane and Thulani Mthombeni

  • Volunteer of the Year

Xolani Gumede, Andiswa “Bono” Sifunda and Ambros Sikutu

  • Team of the Year

Coal City, Embalenhle Rugby Club and TS Sporting

  • Coach of the Year

Dumisani Tshabalala, Nakedi Serumela and Muzi Makhatini

  • Sports Star of the Year

Rika Rossouw, Keo Mokolopo, Geraldine Janssens, Lehlogonolo Molapo, Faith Malope, Prudence Kwanyama, Lucky Sekome, Jan Degenaar, Nico van der Berg, Sabelo Masango, Njabulo Cumbane and Thulani  Mthombeni

  • People’s Choice (Sports Star of the Year)

Rika Rossouw (MPSA2014), Keo Mokolopo (MPSA2015), Geraldine Janssens (MPSA2016), Lehlogonolo Molapo (MPSA2017, Faith Malope (MPSA2018), Prudence Kwanyama (MPSA2019), Lucky Sekome (MPSA2020), Jan Degenaar (MPSA2021), Nico van der Berg (MPSA2022), Sabelo Masango (MPSA2023), Njabulo Cumbane (MPSA2024) and Thulani  Mthombeni (MPSA2025)

  • Sports Photographer of the Year

Manqoba Soko (MPSA2026), Jabulane Khumalo (MPSA2027) and Mbekezeli Mbuli (MPSA2028)

  • Sports Radio Programme of the Year

VOC FM Sports (MPSA2029), Emalahleni FM Sports Programme (MPSA2030) and Ligwalagwala FM Drive Sports Centre (MPSA2031).

  • Indigenous Games Team of the Year

Hungry Lions and Pholophoti Kgati Team

Enquiries: Sibongile Nkosi on 082 492 4886.